Web Multimedia Verification Workshop

Today (29 June) I delivered a keynote at the Web Multimedia Verification Workshop (WeMuV2015) that took place as part of the IEEE International Conference on Multimedia and Expo (ICME) in Torino.  The topic of my presentation: user-generated content and its impact on journalism, focus on verification.

I hope I made some impact among the almost exclusive academic audience, who are mostly involved in “hardcore R&D” in the areas of image detection, manipulation etc, developing fancy algorithms.

From the feedback I got afterwards I sensed that – at least the people I talked to – were grateful to get a better understanding of what actual and pressing issues are for journalists and media organisations when it comes to dealing with (and verifying) UGC, or eyewitness media.

Elsewhere on this blog, I wrote down some thoughts on the matter (see here) that deal with some of the issues I discussed in my presentation.

I also tweeted about the event under the @RevealEU account (less so using @jospang) with the hashtag #WeMuV2015.

Plus: here you can find an abriged version of my presentation.

Some impressions of WeMuV2015 below.


    

Leave a Reply

